Raising money is harder than running

So last April (2016) I decided to enter the London Marathon for April 2017 to raise money and awareness of The Evelina, a dedicated and 2nd largest children’s hospital based at St Thomas in the city. A really good cause and I’m sure you have read why I decided to do this so I am sure I don’t need to go into too much detail.

Anyway I got a place and then realised I had to raise £2500 which seems like a small amount but it’s not when you get raising it! Why is money so way to spend but when you want to save or raise it, it takes ages?  So I’ve done a few events already from a horrendous speed dating evening where only 6 women arrived and 1 man to successful coffee mornings and a christmas party to a children’s Christmas event. The Christmas party raised the same a coffee morning and the children’s party well was a nice £100 raised. But this is hard and I must say once I am back out running the training at will be the easy part, well until I’m running miles!

So what is next well a valentines ball, with a live band on the 18/2 at broadbridge Heath leisure centre and I am now worried I’ve not got enough uptake on this. I really thought £5 a ticket to see a live band play in a bar would be ok with a great raffle but strangely I’ve had a bit of interest but not enough.. The raffle prizes I have are fab inc a Pilates introduction class, a podiatrist voucher from Clockhouse Poditary in town, to one months free gym membership, to a beauty voucher and bike servicing, and before I forget a golf day worth £85. So some really great prizes!

So how do I sell tickets I hear you ask well email me your details. Pay at uk.virginmoneygiving.com/TARAWOODFORD- quite easy and I do discounts like buy five tickets for £20 and 10 for £40.

I have other events too and will list them below in a min, however if you fancy coming to an event of helping me to raise the money then don’t be shy and contact me at tarawoodford@hotmail.co.uk.

The Events

Saturday 18th Feb 2017, Valentines Ball with a live band – Sonic Deluxe at the Extra Time Bar, Broadbridge Heath Leisure Centre, from 7.30pm. Bar is open and tickets are £5 or in advance buy 5 for £20 and 10 for £40. Please pay at uk.virginmoneygiving.com/TARAWOODFORD and then email me tarawoodford@hotmail.co.uk

Sunday 24th February 2017 – Coffee and Cake Sunday Afternoon Chill  at Wesley Hall, London Road Methodist Church, London Road, Horsham from 2-4pm

Other events to be announced so watch this space..

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

