So I’m one organ less

So yesterday I spent the day at The Mount Alvernia Hospital in Guildford (24/2) to have the nightmare organ out, the one that’s stopped me from running…

I arrived at some crazy hour in the morning and I was so nervous. The husband dropped me off and then had to drop the pixies off at the very accommodating childminder. I then sat waiting to be called to my room for the day.

Once all the checks were done and I had met all the surgical team I walked to the theatre with the doc, who was one of the nicest people I have met. She obviously realised I was scared and walked with her arm around me the whole time there.. The anesthetist was also lovely and kept telling how great being put to sleep was. Any way with in a few mins I was out for the count.

The next thing I know I’m in recovery and can’t remember anything.. I get taken back to my room and I drink so much water as its good to get the drugs out of your system ASAP… I’m in pain at this point and after a cocktail of morphine, ibuprofen, paracetamol and codine I start to feel a bit better.. I spend the afternoon there drifting in and out of sleep and going for a wee… This is a good recovery as I’m now weeing out the anesthetic and the more you drink, the more you wee the better you feel.

The as the day goes on I finally eat and did I mention Craig was there when I was out of theatre. He kept me company and as well as the amazing staff he also looked after me.

I’m then allowed to go home as I’ve wee’d, eaten and blood pressure is back to normal. So off we set off on our journey home..

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the people who helped yesterday with the pixies.. The childminder, it’s now her normal working day and she was there to take them in, the mother-in-law to pick up one pixie and take her over night and the hubby’s best friends who had the other pixie until we got back.. Thank you xxx

p.s I have glue and no dressing so happy days.. It will be a total of 6weeks recovery and no lifting for two weeks and no heavy lifting for 6.

Please look out for the next instalment in a day or so. Thank you for reading x

#gallbaldder #gallbladderoperation #nofat #mountalvernia #bmi

Leave a Reply

